DRACULA, WEREWOLF & SPOOKS

‘Tis the season for spooky stuff. AMC is having non-stop chillers. TCM has Friday Fright Night. I’m sure other channels are doing the same. Our community is having a Scarecrow Festival and some are pretty ghoulish. My husband loves the old Dracula, Werewolf and Frankenstein movies with such actors as Bela Lugosi, Lon Chaney and Vincent Price (notice the set of 3’s, Chuck). I can watch these. I can’t watch the stuff of today.
The last few weeks my husband, the remote controller, flips through channels. A scene from ‘Chucky’ comes on. “Change it!” We watch another mild show and then his itching fingers flip again and a scene from a ‘Friday The 13th’ movie shows up. “Change it!” Click. HGTV House Hunters in Hawaii. Ahhh. Much better. House hunters, not head hunters or head choppers.
Back in the day, the old scary movies did the trick. I remember watching ‘The Mummy’ (old one, not new ones) as a child and being scared to death. But the gore was almost non-existent and the fright factor good but not over the top. I don’t mind what I consider G rated scary, like when the alien steps out at the Mexican birthday party in the movie ‘Signs.’ And by the way, if you haven’t seen this one, it is well worth the time. Scary but powerfully good.
You know those emails that are nostalgic about the past, especially the good ‘ole TV shows with talking horses, rescue dogs and smart horses? A huge hit on television right now? ‘The Walking Dead.’ In fairness, we have watched it for 5 minutes, so I cannot be too hard on something I haven’t seen. Maybe it has good stuff. I’m content not to find out. I could get on my soapbox lamenting how scary movies of today for the most part have transformed into disgusting, horrific, sadistic themes of evil. I could further question why people would want to watch them.
But instead, unabashedly I say, take me back to the old days of The Munsters! I liked The Hand! I loved Herman!

Leave a Reply

